(Article of periodic en Anglais - 2006)

Document title

Czech Silesia : a periphery of the Czech state

Authors(s) and Affiliation(s)



The Czech Republic consists of three historical provinces : Bohemia, Moravia and Silesia. While the first and second of these are well known, to the point where their existences in the minds of their inhabitants are not under discussion, the existence of the third is not clear. It is the smallest, the furthest from the capital, and it has the worst - if any - image. Now this region is suffering through the transition : its heavy industry is finished and this is a very problematic process here as in every locality in which an industrial transformation has taken place. The position of Czech Silesia in the minds of its inhabitants was mapped in the form of mental maps several years ago at the university of Ostrava. Now, the considerations regarding the different status has been used as a measure of the peripheral character of Czech Silesia. - (BJ)


Article of periodic

published at : Europa XXI / ISSN 1429-7132

Editor : POLOGNE

Millesime : 2006, no15 [pp. 145-150]

Bibliographic references : 3 ref.

Collation : Illustration ;




Réseau PRODIG - Paris

Tous droits réservés © Prodig - Bibliographie Géographique Internationale (BGI), 2007.
Refdoc record number (ud4) : 18865292 : Permanent link - XML version
Powered by Pxxo